1st Job - Financial Services Representative - NEED YOUR OPINIONS

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by cks316, Aug 6, 2007.

1. cks316

cks316

Despite my love for the market, I simply do not have enough capital (actually I'm in debt) to start trading. After considering my best skills, I believe I will be most successful selling financial services.

I narrowed my company search down to: Prudential Financial, and Northwestern Mutual. Both companies are interested in me and I believe I have a realistic chance to get hired by either one.

Prudential has a starting salary of $30,000/year + commision the first two years, while Northwestern Mutual has an accerated commision structure for the first 3 years.

Any advice?????????/

2. cks - I was a broker, while not at one of the 2 firms you have narrowed your search down to, but in my opinion Northwestern is mainly a life insurance shop, regardless of what they tell you. Prudential will be a little more balanced in product offerings; although neither is a powerhouse in the planning field.

If you want to focus on life insurance, Northwestern is the best option. If you want to sell a variety of products, Pru would be better of the two.

I would suggest you check out www.rrmag.com as well. They have a forum area that is mainly used by brokers that could help you better than here.

3. If you have a Merrill Lynch office I would go there. When you're in retail it's good to have a top brand name.

I worked at MER and MS in the 1990's so if you have any questions feel free to send me a PM.

4. cks316

cks316

Thanks for the advice!!

ML asks for experience in financial services, and believe me if I wasn't fresh out of school that would be my first choice.

Has anyone here actually worked or knew someone who worked for Prudential or Northwestern?

I have been looking online and Northwestern Mutual is ranked in the top five for insurance groups while Prudential is not.

Any other input is welcome!