1256 futures contracts tax related question

Discussion in 'Taxes and Accounting' started by sammybea, Mar 2, 2020.

1. sammybea

sammybea

If you have a 1256 futures loss, can you deduct a portion of that against long term gains (that are not futures related)?

2. Yes. For stocks/options (except index options) it is determined by holding period. For 1256, 60% LT / 40% ST. They are fungible against each other

3. bone

bone

Be very careful about that - the IRS has some specific rules about 1256 securities and from my experience most accountants are NOT knowledgeable enough about MTM accounting particulars especially when it comes to offsetting positions. The internet is the last place you want to ask about tax advice.

dealmaker likes this.
  4. @bone true I am not a tax pro either and that disclaimer apply. I just stick in my futures brokerage tax form in Turbotax and it calculates it like this. Just like I said it does. I am not sure what offsetting position your are referring to, but probably that's part of the equities side of the calculation, taking into account wash sales and what not. All I am saying is after one is done calculating the equities and futures side separately, they can be offset against each other (the ST & LT part). At least, that's what my understanding is, and that's what Turbotax is doing for me since forever, and I am yet to hear from IRS with any objections

5. bone

bone

I urge caution because the OP stated that he wanted to offset against a security that "was not futures related" (his words). The IRS has a very specific list of 1256 approved securities. You never got flagged because all of your positions - even offsets, were 1256 approved (as they were provided by your futures brokerage). :thumbsup: