10% per month with options ?

Discussion in 'Options' started by trade2live, May 23, 2010.

1. I saw a newsletter provider claiming to make 10% per month with iron condors. They say they do it years after years, occasionnaly they lose 30% in one month but go on to make 100% + per year .

That doesn't look right to me , I understand the figures are calculated on the margin deposit but not being an option trader I would think in practice you don't commit 100% of your capital to each trade you make, that would be risking a blow up in case something goes really wrong such as Interactive Brokers liquidating your IC at crazy prices for a reason or another.

Still just 5% per month every month would be like trading the holy grail , is it reasonable to expect such returns from that kind of strategy ?
    Ansbacher doesn't make such returns, just 30 % per year on average I believe.

2. I know an investment company based in USA that has paid for past 6 years average profit of +103% per year (without compounded interest). They invest in property market around the world. Also I know a forex trader who guarantees 20% profit per month. So it is possible to earn 10% to 20% profit per month from various investments available.

3. this concept has pretty much been beat to death from both sides on a number of threads in the option forum.

from my own experience i have been trading just one side (BPS) of the ic and have averaged about 9% rom. BUTT, only with a very small % of my trading funds. also i am trading SPY so commish is also a big % concern. BUTT, i just look at a $ amount i want to target and go for it.

i also realize i have had the wind of a very strong bull market at my back.

the fear of a big drop is always there. i have it dialed in at 2x of my target profit. so even though it takes $10k risk margin to target $1k profit, i would plan to shut down the trade at 2x, or $2k loss, round numbers.