08-11-2007: Time to buy Goldman?

Discussion in 'Stocks' started by polpolik, Aug 10, 2007.

1. As a pure technical trader, I believe now is the time to buy GS.

1) On a weekly chart, finally gravestone doji during a downward move with a huge head.

2) Huge volume signalling a downward price move exhaustion

3) Oversold on RSI and Stoch

It doesn't get better than this for the bulls.

[​IMG]

(I own 300 GS at $180)

2. Gravestone doji doesn't look like that, that is a spinning top - a mark of consolidation.

Oversold but... oversold can stay oversold for a long period of time.

3. Thanks for the correction.

Of course, I'm not saying I'll be 100% correct but the odds that everything falling into place plus a strong WEEKLY support at 180 (2 weeks it's tried and failed to break) and the volume shows strong buying at this level.

My target is around $200 on this one depending on next week's market action.

4. What about some fundamental analysis ? Do you think GS, MER, BSC, LEH, JPM and others will not suffer from the hedgefund debacles and credit crunch ? At least their underwriting business will suffer in relation to ABS, or ? And what about hedgefunds 4:1 leverage meltdown to 1:1 => less income from HF business ? And what about Private Equity standstill ?

5. My analysis is purely from a technical standpoint as well as most of my trades. I don't pay much attention to fundamentals when I trade. the chart tells me what I need to know in most cases.

Also, this is a short term play. The weekly volume of >100M tells me there are people that do consider the points you made but still think it's convincing enough to buy at this level creating a strong weekly support. I don't let fundamentals get in the way of my trading otherwise, I would have been shorting this market when the DOW was at 11,000.

6. No?!?!?!? Why?!?!?!?! It seems The Boyz were smart and sold off all their junk products to their European counterparties: BNP Paribas, IKB Germany and WestLB!!! :D