0-100mph - Trying to go from newbie to a pro ...

Discussion in 'Journals' started by zanek, Oct 9, 2009.

1. zanek

zanek

I'm creating this journal to track my progress. I traded my first stock in Jan 2009 and made $10k in the first month months then lost $25k in Feb 2009. I had no idea what I was doing at that time and was just buying on hunches.

I stopped trading from March to Sept and decided to learn TA and get a better footing on how the market works.

I've just started trading again in mid September. I have a great system, but now my problem is myself and my lack of discipline.

My biggest problems so far are:

<font color='red'><b>Trying to pick bottoms and tops</b></font>: Instead of waiting for a clear signal from my system, I constantly get greedy and try to capture the entire trend. I never realized I was a perfectionist until I started trading. Good lord, it feels like a horrible trait to have

<font color='red'><b>Lack of patience</b></font>: I jump into a trade when I start to see a signal forming (before getting confirmation from another signal like my system calls for)

Sometimes I also hesitate to pull the trigger when my system says I should, and then when the price goes up, I start chasing.

I shall be posting my daily profit/loss and problems/solutions encountered

2. Good luck! :cool:

3. Btw, what market(s) will you be trading? Post some more details on your style of trading, risk parameters, trade management etc.

4. zanek

zanek

Thanks Fast Trader.

I trade stocks only now (about to start trading options).

I mostly do either swing trades or 5-15min day trades.

I risk at most 1% on each trade.

I mainly use S/R , pivots, volume and price channels to trade

5. zanek

zanek

Bought FAZ this morning (before creating this journal). Tried to pick the bottom twice to early instead of waiting for a clear signal.

The funny part is, had I waited like system told me to, I would have bought at 19.51 and made up to $2k.