Looking for a mentor in Toronto

Discussion in 'Hook Up' started by hrandhawa99, Mar 7, 2024.

1. A little bit about me, I've been swing trading quantamentally for about one year now ( trading in and out since 2018, but mainly OSAP and parents RESP funds in Uni - don't worry everything was paid off when I graduated ;) ). I was doing great (70%+ returns last year, 1/3 of the portfolio was in options (mean reversion strategies with pure time series analysis) and the rest various index funds), until the inevitable happened earlier this year where my foolishness and overreliance on the Kelly criterion led me to take a massive bet as odds were too good on a mean reversion bet, cue the black swan two sigma+ event and I have nothing to show for my analysis. I've read countless books on trading models and strategies, mainly academic textbooks, but I'm missing guidance from a veteran in the markets as no one in my circle is serious about solving the problem of the markets. I was wondering if there is anyone in Toronto that is willing to train a young buck on the markets and 'how to trade'? I'm good with computers, math, stats, and anything that involves pulling data/making sense of information and I'm more than happy to provide my skills in return for mentorship

MarkBrown and semperfrosty like this.
  2. gjlearner

gjlearner

I am interested in helping in a roundabout way. I am no expert but have read and studied a lot. I would like to develop a spreadsheet to serve as a better way of visualizing option values before selling or buying options. I know a fair amount about spreadsheets but not quite enough knowledge, focus and time to make it happen. I would be glad to pay you to help develop this and ideally it will work out for both of us to make better option choices. I do not know much about how these posts-threads work. First one for me. How would we connect? I prefer private communication about proprietary ideas via phone, zoom, text, messages in that order. Thanks