How margin rules have changed

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by long, Apr 24, 2024.

1. long

long

I started trading commodities futures in 1998. At that time it was through a small farm town brokerage that charged $75 commission on a round turn. You called them up and placed trades over the phone. When I traded with this broker I could put on a trade if I didn’t have enough to cover it in my margin account. I’d just get a margin call the next day and have 3 days to send a check or wire the funds. If I held a soybean position and placed a stop loss order it didn’t count against my margin requirement. The same applied to a profit target order. I only had to have margin for the actual contracts that I held, open orders didn’t count unless I was adding on. So if the required margin to hold a soybean contract was $1000 I could hold one contract and have an open stop loss and have an open take profit order with just a $1000 account balance.

These days I’m using a discount brokerage platform and entering my own trades for a $2.50 RT commission. But……if I want to hold one soybean contract and have the same two open orders that are exit orders I have to have a $3000 balance. This cuts my leverage by at least half.

Long story short, my old brokerage only required margin for open positions while my current brokerage requires margin for unfilled open orders. Even if the orders reduce position size if filled.

Are there any discount brokers that manage margin requirements like my old broker? I mean if I take a position and place both a stop loss and a profit taking order I don’t have much leverage at all using my current brokerage.

Last edited: Apr 25, 2024
  2. Overnight

Overnight

Mmmm, i have *think* I have seen your nick floating around before...It is real simple...You cannot open a futures contract beyond what your NLV allows, based on Performance Bond requirements of the contract. Are you trading a CME or ICE contracts?

3. long

long