FVG question

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by cashclay, Feb 20, 2024.

1. cashclay

cashclay

Im just curious. I saw in a couple of videos that said after a FVG occurs the price has to return because of inefficiency. I understand that means the market has to correct itself after a massive turn in one direction but my question is why? Why does a FVG or inefficiency have to correct itself? The answer in the multiple youtube states because there are buy orders there that hasnt been completed but my reaction is so what? They placed wrong buy orders and it didnt get filled so why does after a FVG occur does the market have to return back to that area to fill those orders?

Thank you for any replies or help but also please remember that I am a newbie not a financial genius ...

2. SunTrader

SunTrader

Gaps don't have to do anything ... right away. Or sometimes even anytime soon.

But all gaps, all, at some point get filled.

For those who don't think so look to former GM stock that had gaps for decades until 2007-2008 mortgage meltdown/credit crunch hit. and plenty of other examples.

3. maxinger

maxinger

The more you view those youtube, the more you have to contaminate your mind.

When there is an up gap, price can
    - continue to go up right away
    - close the gap and then continue to go up
    - reverse direction
    - remain at it is

The possibilities are endless.

Anyway, do your own analysis.

Please update INVESTOPEDIA as the FVG definition is not in there.

4. cashclay

cashclay