Wondering if this is possible (Yahoo API)

Discussion in 'App Development' started by kmgilroy89, May 23, 2016.

1. Hello,

I'm thinking of building an API with Yahoo Finance data and Excel. I've never done this before so I want to know if this is even possible to do for free before I waste my time.
    1. I want a screener for several thousand symbols (all stocks on NYSE/NASDAQ/AMEX >$1)
    2. I want it to refresh once a minute
    3. I want to be able to pause the screen to avoid refreshment
    4. I want the data in close to real-time (no more than a minute off)
    5. I want standard intraday data that Yahoo uses (volume, high, low, last price)
    6. I want the High/Low/Open/Close of the most recent bars (preferably 1 minute, but 5 would work as well)

Thanks

2. Multiple implementations of this already exist (in Excel, Java, C+, PHP, you name it). Just google it.

3. OptionGuru

OptionGuru

Try Google Sheets and Google Finance. I wish Google would add options.

:)

4. gkishot

gkishot

Yahoo data is 20 min delayed and you want to refresh it once a minute?

5. OptionGuru

OptionGuru

Yahoo stock prices are updated in real-time. Options have a 20 minute delay.

Yahoo Finance - AAPL

6. On their website it's in real time. Can an API be created to retrieve that data though?

7. OptionGuru

OptionGuru

PHP ..... Below is a PHP code I used years ago. I don't know if it still works and if it does it will require a lot of additional coding to get it up and running.

Code:
    $ticker
    $open = fopen("http://quote.yahoo.com/d/quotes.csv?s=$ticker&f=sl1d1t1c1ohgv&e=.csv", "r");

If you google the above code snippet you should get a lot more PHP code that goes with it.

8. I'm a complete amateur coder. I followed a tutorial online to get quotes in VBA for this:
    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/1062712/Yahoo data download.htm