Why can't I get a job? Recent Grad, 3.7 GPA, Good Exp, Year and a half of searching..

Discussion in 'Economics' started by INeedAJob, Sep 8, 2009.

1. I have an economics degree from Stony Brook University with a 3.72 GPA. I have good experience, including a Series 7 and 63. I have been out of school for a year and a half now searching for a full time salaried position and have had zero interviews. I have sent out thousands upon thousands of resumes, not one call back.

My resume is good. I have had it reviewed by dozens of people, including some in charge of hiring at financial companies, although none that were in a position to help me in more then advice.

I know I am a great candidate. I am a fast learner and was at the top of all my classes, but can not get my foot in the door anywhere. I have used every contact I have to no avail (including some big names).

Will someone tell me where they are hiding the job listings that actually call you in for interviews so I can show how good I really am?

2. 1) It sucks for everybody out there.
    2) Make your job search more "personal", not "detached".
    3) You are competing against experienced people and better qualified rookies for jobs.
    4) You ought to consider some type of self-employment and/or re-adjusting your goals and expectations before you become "stale".
    5) Attend any type of resume and job search workshop at a public library or community college for more info and ideas. :)

3. what skills are you good at? what kind of jobs are you applying for? can you add value to the company that hires you?

4. Surdo

Surdo

Go learn how to windsurf and kiteboard in The Caribbean and chase skirt while earning money as an instructor...then open your own school.

I assume you are single and have a bedroom in the folks' house, things could be a lot worse.

Do you have any hobbys, music, art, racing, sailing, fishing...what do you like to do?