What's rules do you follow to keep the discipline in check?

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by ftrexx1, Dec 1, 2020.

1. ftrexx1

ftrexx1

Hello!
    I writing here to get some good advices from you guys about how to work on my discipline in trading.
    I have been trading mostly NQ/MNQ for almost three years as a part time fun t it is getting serious. After the first 1.5 of constant losses, I would say that I reached the break-even! During the last 6 months, after switching from NQ to MNQ, I am profitable almost every day. I average $450ish, some day up $25, some other like today it was a nice $1100. The problem is that once in a while, i have some really bad day where I loose the control, I do rage trading, chasing the price and basically give away what I have gained in the previous 10/15 days (that's why I reached the break even). It is really annoying!
    Do you guys follow some specific rules to be disciplined in your daily routine?

2. If your system can allow it, set an alert at around where you would like to enter the trade. Then, trade based purely on alerts. No alert means no trading. Thus, you'll only be able to trade 'correct' setups.

Another is a mindset trick. Let's say you lost money and want to revenge trade. Rather than trying to make it back the same day, say "I'm trying out a different strategy, which is try again tomorrow rather than today." Shut it off and have a clear head the next day. Expect that you'll miss trades that same day. Indeed, expect to lose money regardless, but because it is expected, it won't hurt. "I make money on a weekly basis, not daily- these losses don't mean anything."

Also, have a daily loss limit. So when you do lose money, it's not "I lost money, gotta get it all back!" but rather "This loss is well within expected range, just as predicted. Because my system makes money, I'll make more later."