Want to trade on Globex

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by ace-xyz, Jan 8, 2009.

1. ace-xyz

ace-xyz

I am a newbie and want to trade Currency Futures. Can anyone please suggest a good broker/dealer to trade the same on Globex? My starting capital won't be more than $10000.

Is anyone her using Lind Waldock? How is it?

2. Years ago I started out with Lind Waldock - I had a great broker, but unfortunately, he needed to make a living too, so I was unable ever to get a real break on commissions. But my experience with Lind was very very positive.

Today, I trade through both Interactive Brokers and (due to IB's increased day trade margins) I have also started trading through Infinity Futures, and introducing broker to Transact Futures.

I have been very pleased with Infinity thus far - I've been trading with them since November 2008. Nearly all of my day trades are now conducted through Infinity.

As far as currency futures go, I trade primarily the Euro, though I occasionally trade the Pound, Swissy,and Yen.

Best Wishes,

ddaytrader

3. $10k isn't a whole lot for trading futures. A EUR contract is 125k Euros (62.5k for the mini) so an abrupt move in the wrong direction and you've either stopped out or in big trouble. You can trade forex in much smaller increments. Just something to consider.

4. ace-xyz

ace-xyz

ddaytrader

Thanks for the recommendations. I have 2 more queries. Hope you will answer them.

1. Why don't you use Transact directly instead of going thru an introducing broker?

2. Is Interactive Brokers clearing memeber of CME?

Archie

5. Neither Trans or IB are clearing firms. IB is an....IB - introducing broker.

You may want to trade directly w/ a clearing firm & get set up on J-Trader, etc.

6. ace-xyz

ace-xyz

Hurricane,

I know that $10000 is not whole lot for Currency Futures trading. Thanks for reminding me.

But can you suggest any broker / dealer to trade the same?

Archie

7. def

def Sponsor

8. ace-xyz

ace-xyz

9. def