Volatility, Trends, Expected Move and Risk

Discussion in 'Trading' started by toucan, Feb 7, 2021.

1. toucan

toucan

I have been daytrading futures for 13 years.

I am a trend trader and analyze volatility, trends, expected move and risk every Friday after the close. My analysis tends to end up with percentages, averages, probabilities and ranges. Traders can have different definitions for volatility, trend, expected move and risk, so I will try to define them as I go.

Volatility is the distance that price moves over some time period. For emini futures I tend to trade the first 2 hours after the equities open. So my volatility calculation is based on the price move over those 2 hours. The price move over those 2 hours has 2 components, trends and chop. I focus on the trends. My definition of a trend is a price move in one direction from the trend start to when price retraces against the trend more than my initial stoploss. I analyze those trends and calculate the average percent of trends that move more than 2 times my initial stoploss. For example, over the 2 hour time period that I trade the emini, 38% of the trends moved more than 2 times my initial stoploss. For those 38% of trends, my initial stoploss is 3.7 points and my expected move is 3.1 to 4.2 times my initial stoploss. This is just an historical example and will change over time.

During the trading day when I add support/resistance and market context, I can raise that win/loss ratio from 38% to over 50% for the actual trades that I take and achieve a minimum of 2:1 profit/loss ratio. These are averages and i have losing trades and losing days like any other trader.