Trouble Choosing Between Futures and Options

Discussion in 'Trading' started by gaussian, May 21, 2019.

1. gaussian

gaussian

I'm generally an options trader. I have lots of books on options, and in general I enjoy trading options. However, I've recently spent more time in futures and I quite like them as well. Both are fun to me. So much fun in fact I have analysis paralysis and I need some external input. I can't do both well. Right now I'm a swing trader because I don't have enough money to do it full time. I also only have enough money to do one really well - I can't dabble in each.

Options

Pros
    • Many setups because of how many degrees of freedom a contract has
    • thousands of tradeable underlyings, can also trade on futures (though I don't do that)
    • Not favorable tax status unless trading indexes (SPX, RUT, etc)
    Cons
    • Margin is actually margin
    • Time dependent
    • Often times margin is excessive on short positions
    • Stuck trading the US cycle (I'm in the US) and closing options trades can't be done after hours

Futures

Pros
    • Trading involves interesting things like commodities, financial futures, index futures, etc. There are always setups.
    • Favorable tax status
    • Margin is actually sort of escrow/payment-in-good-faith
    • 24 hour market (more or less)
    Cons
    • Sometimes very large margin but intraday is usually tolerable.
    • 100% directional (for example, there's no short vega/long theta style trades).

I think each has their merits and both are in general pretty liquid. I can't decide which is better for me, the retail, though.

Can anyone help me resolve this dilemma?

2. Times

Times