Tired of being a retail Broker

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by musclemoney, Feb 6, 2008.

1. Hello, I'm a newbie here. Love the board!

My questions:

I'm a Series 7 Broker, and Series 63, 65 Registered Investment Advisor, Life and Health Licensed, and Level II CFA "Candidate." (I "was" going to get level II done this year, but that's too much with my work load right now.

Got started in the business 4 years ago at a wirehouse. Stayed there two years, saw the light, and went independent.

Started trading about six years ago.

My delima:

I am so tired of the retail world due to the regulators, ignorant compliance pinheads who know ZERO about the real world, the horrible back office "support," and the list goes on. I LOVE making money for clients though! I like doing it without a ton of risk, or leverage.

I want to trade for a living! I didn't know it, but I guess the Engineer's in my family (Dad, Sister, Cousins, etc.,) may be in my blood to be more analytical than a salesperson. I'm 38 years old, and with a wife and three teen-age sons, I'm not rich enough to just sit home and daytrade, as that imo takes a good amount of capital to do over, and over, without harming the family's income source.
    (BTW, I'm not a typical, dry Engineer type many people run into these days. LOL!)

I understand there are equities/commodities firms out there who will train, then put you to work. Who are they? Anyone here in a similar mindset?

The advice the vets here give would be appreciated! Don't know if a Trading "Academy" (Don Bright?), or Prop, or another type of firm would be the best way to go. Thanks!

2. ssss

ssss

My delima:

I am so tired of the retail world due to the regulators, ignorant compliance pinheads

++++++++++++++++

who know ZERO about the real world, the horrible back office "support," and the list goes on. I LOVE making money for clients though! I like doing it without a ton of risk, or leverage.

?