Should I trade full time???

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by trader07, Aug 21, 2007.

Should I quit my day job and trade full time?

Poll closed Aug 31, 2007.
  1. Yes

25 vote(s)
    35.7%
  2. No

44 vote(s)
    62.9%
  1. I make $140K salary plus $35K-75K bonus (depending on factors) per year at my current job. I know, it's a lot of money. But when I get a chance to trade I do REAL WELL too. My dilemma is that I don't get to trade much because I'm working for the man. I think I could trade full time and make as much as I'm making in salary (and maybe bonus). I have been trading on/off for 15 years while working FT salary job. For the last 2 years I have been making 50%-100% return even while working FT. I like the thought of working for myself, home, jeans etc. instead of dealing with the drivel of working for somebody else. However, I have a family (wife 2 kids). What do you think, should I "seize the day"?

2. Why are you so afraid?
    You do not make sense!

3. MattSF

MattSF

I recently left the sell-side to trade full-time from home. Not to pry, but what stake are you playing with? I wouldn't consider leaving $200k a year without 5x that in reserve. I left a similar package this year to trade personal funds, $400k + bonus. Sorry if it smacks of braggadocio, but I wasn't comfortable making the transition without a large cushion.

4. jsmith

jsmith

No, your expectations are unrealistic. You will be humbled.
    You should expect to lose money or breakeven the first few years.

It's not worth the risk to quit your job with a family to have a small chance of making what you currently make now. Take a 2-4 week vacation for small test run.

Best of Luck!

5. mde2004

mde2004

I would if I was you.

Trading lets you do whatever you want to. You can play golf or make thousands everyday. Your choice though.

Your family needs you home.

6. jetbird

jetbird

Take a month off work, test the waters.

7. TOM134

TOM134

trader07,