reading the MACD line

Discussion in 'Technical Analysis' started by ross1985, Jan 9, 2017.

1. ross1985

ross1985

Hi,

I’m trying to use the MACD line as one of my indicators. One of my indicators is whether the MACD line is angling up or down on the long-term chart in the direction of my trade. My problem is, I’m having trouble figuring out if I’m supposed to be looking at just one line of the MACD or both lines because they are often angling in different directions. On my live chart I have a blue line and an orange line (I believe the blue line is the MACD line and the orange line is the signal). Should I be looking at only one of these lines on the long-term chart or both of them? I’ve attached a picture of the chart setup that I use. I know this is a newbie question, but I’m very new to trading. Thanks
    Screen Shot 2017-01-09 at 6.51.00 PM.png

2. MACD is presented as 3 lines:

1. MACD itself
    2. The exponential moving average of the MACD
    3. The difference between MACD and its exponential moving average

There are multiple ways of interpreting these 3 lines. You may want to read this article:
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MACD

A useful (and intuitive) way to think about MACD is as follows. MACD itself is the first derivative of the price (i.e. velocity). The difference between MACD and its exponential moving average is the second derivative of the price (i.e. acceleration). Incidentally, nothing stops you from estimating the higher-order derivatives, as well.

Another thing to consider is that MACD can be applied not just to price, but to other "observables" (such as volume, for example), and even to other indicators, such as "MACD of RSI".

Last edited: Jan 9, 2017
    Chris Mac likes this.
  3. tommcginnis

tommcginnis

Most traders cannot explain any indicator at random, in words that either/both of their Mother or the 12-year-old from next door, would understand.

Most traders lose money.

Is there a tie there? I think 'yes.'