Probability of success due to chance alone?

Discussion in 'Risk Management' started by anesthesiaman, Oct 4, 2010.

1. I would like to determine the probability of my success being due to chance alone (and thus not my skill).

I started trading futures for the first time on May 25, 2010 (although I also know how to trade options and stock also - so I'm not an absolute beginner).

On a 100k account I'm up a little over $7500. I took the month of Sept 2010 off to study for my anesthesiology oral boards - so this month should not count in the probability determination.

The summer months had a high level of difficulty as even many pro hedge funds were down over the same period. This difficulty level ought to be taken into account, I think.

I use Thinkorswim.

I do not know my win/loss ratio nor the average loss or average gain, but intuitively I know that I win more than I lose and my average wins are greater than my average losses.

The P value should be < or = to 0.05 but I do not know how to calculate this value. Anyone know how to do this probability calculation?

Also, anyone know of a program that is compatible with Thinkorswim that would help me keep track of my win/loss ratio, max drawdown, average gain/loss, etc.?

Thanks in advance,
    Anesthesiaman

2. Perhaps I should mention also:

I'm a pure discretionary trader. I usually don't hold longer than a few days to weeks. My trading system is based on what I see on the charts and hear in the news - not really a "system" per se. Sorry, I do not know how to describe it but it isn't important in the probability calculation.

Statistics aren't my forte, but I guess to determine this calculation (i.e. probability of success trading futures over a 3-4 month period with return on trading capital of about 7.5%), one would have to assume a normal distribution curve.