Pair trade take profit in TWS

Discussion in 'Order Execution' started by arman555, May 17, 2019.

1. arman555

arman555

Hello Everyone,

I am fairly new to the Interactive brokers TWS. I see that people say alot of good things about it but I find that some of the basic functions are missing (or i dont know yet).

I am trying to Pair trade the futures (aka calender spread). Suppose I open a Buy at 2, i see that Bid/ASK doesnt even move but the pnl fluctuate like crazy. So why not capture those?

Question:Is there any way to send the market closing order on the combo when the Profit and loss hit a certain level?

2. ET180

ET180

How does the P/L fluctuate like crazy without the bid-ask moving?

3. arman555

arman555

Thats a million dollar question. I just spent 2 hours on the phone with them. Getting transfered from person to person. One of the "experts" explaination was.... "spreads dont move much but the underlying assets do that's why you see this." I dont know how to explain to him that spread is consist of underlying assets. And what to expect from that "expert".

But on the portfolio window the calculation adds up. So i will take a $8 risk and try and close the position as market.. see what happnes

4. R1234

R1234

Not sure how your PNL can be moving if the bid/ask is static. What market are you trading?
    Yes, you can enter a profit-take limit or a stop loss on the calendar spread's price.

5. arman555

arman555

I mean even on the chart i see the static price but bars keep changing.. i dont know which one to trust.
    Oh man... please give me some advice how to go about doing that in the platform. I saw someone suggesting use excel and route the orders with macro. Is there any other way?

6. R1234

R1234