options on results of stock screeners

Discussion in 'Options' started by tedthedog, Sep 3, 2011.

1. tedthedog

tedthedog

I'm new to options and am interested in using them to goose performance and hedge risk, in combination with stock screeners that try to choose equities with a given direction, e.g. bullish. Three ideas are given below, feedback would be welcome. The stock screener I'm most familiar with is by Joel Greenblatt, who seems to be a reputable academic as well as an investor with street creds. His "Magic Formula Investing" stock screen (horrible name), when back-tested, performs very well in identifying value stocks that give excellent returns on average compared to the S&P on an annual basis. He web-publishes a free, ranked list of stocks. Interestingly, the better ranked stocks in this list performs very well as "value" stocks (in back tests), while the worst ranked stocks perform poorly. He recommends choosing from among the large number of best ranked stocks to form a small portfolio of about 30 stocks, hold them for a year, and then sell. He recently formed some mutual funds that implement his stock picking strategy.

My goals are (a) market beating returns when averaged over a few years (somewhat less than Greenblatt's but more than the market is fine), (b) black swan protection, (c) not investing large amounts of time and effort. Feedback on the following three thoughts would be most appreciated!