Moving to NewYork, any advice?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by JdhJon, Mar 4, 2008.

1. JdhJon

JdhJon

Hi there,

Me and my girlfriend are moving to the US in august. She has already been offered a job and the subsequent visa application. I don't want to continue the field I am currently in. I have a great salary for not much work but don't feel particularly challenged or motivated. I've been looking into it and feel I would really enjoy trading stocks. I have been doing this part-time for a couple of years now, obviously with my own cash. It’s been a rollercoaster ride and i’ve learned a hell of a lot. I would love to do it full-time and feel with the right training I could grind out a living.

I've had a look at Craigslist and seen that there are many jobs advertised for day-traders. Some adverts however don’t look like they are very trustworthy. I don't have a MA or anything but have a foundation degree in the UK which I think is classed as a Higher Diploma in the states.

I was wondering whether any of you guys could offer some advice for me as I would like to approach some trading firms but would like a steer in the right direction to some of the more reputable ones. Also if anyone has any suggestions on which visa I would most likely be able to get that would be great. Thanks any help would be appreciated!

Jon.

2. IF YOU CAN SWING IT, THERE IS A CAREER FAIR IN NYC TOMORROW FEATURING THE BIG FINANCIAL COMPANIES. YOU ARE UNLIKELY TO GET THIS KIND OF OPPORTUNITY AGAIN. TRADERS IS ON THE LIST THEY ARE LOOKING FOR.

12-6PM MARCH 6 - AT HILTON NEW YORK - 53RD & AVE OF THE AMERICAS

DROP EVERYTHING, HOP ON A PLANE AND GO!!!!!!!

LOOK AT FINANCIALCAREEREXPO.COM

3. What kind of experience do you have trading?

To get a job day trading in NYC, you either have to have connections (daddy knows someone) or have some trading statements to prove your success.

Why not trade from home?