Mark to Market: based on trades made in 2018?

Discussion in 'Taxes and Accounting' started by Kristian_S, Mar 27, 2018.

1. Hi, I'm a relatively new day trader and have been actively trading in 2018. Based on my trading in 2018 I would be classified as a day trader in the eyes of the IRS. However, in 2017 I made maybe a dozen day trades. Does anyone know if a Mark to Market election can be filed based on trading history from 2018? Unfortunately the CPA's I've called don't have any consultation time available before April 15, hence my question here.

I appreciate your help!

2. Overnight

Overnight

Best bet is to do this thingy...https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f4868.pdf

And then call around your area and find a CPA that knows about the tax issues you be facing this year.

The only thing I can tell you for sure is that any trading you have done in calendar year 2018 will not need to be reported until mid April, 2019.

3. tiddlywinks

tiddlywinks

https://greentradertax.com/trader-tax-center/trader-tax-status/section-475-mtm-accounting/
    +
    https://greentradertax.com/trader-tax-center/trader-tax-status/how-to-qualify/

speedo likes this.
  4. Yup, an extension is a given. As I said, I haven't found a CPA that has time for a consultation before April 15.

I'm familiar with Green's site. Unfortunately there isn't information about whether or not my 2017 trades or 2018 trades are used to qualify me.

5. tiddlywinks

tiddlywinks

The year in which the trades occur. For 2017 tax year, that means trades previously settled or remaining open on December 31 2017. That's what MTM is... Mark to Market on December 31. Realized (and unrealized) gains and losses are fully realized for tax purposes.

The same for TTS... you qualify or not each (tax) year.

comagnum likes this.
  6. hello everyone, can someone recommend a good forex broker?