Margin and forced liquidation - please help

Discussion in 'Interactive Brokers' started by rts232, May 6, 2020.

1. rts232

rts232

Hello all!

I'm in a bit of a puzzled state. I received a message by IBKR notifying me about a margin increase for a certain stock I own. I do have a margin account (not portfolio margin account), but

1. The only asset I hold is said stock;
    2. The position was paid to 100% by my own funds (aka I did not use any kind of margin for this).

Since I am new to IBKR and the whole margin topic, I contacted support just to be sure about, what that means for me right now.

I was told that my available margin will decrease with this newly announced margin increase for said stock and that this is what is left before any kind of liquidation will take place. The customer service agent didn't reply to any of my questions beyond that, sadly. [CS is a total disaster, but this is another topic.] Now I am somewhat alarmed and therefore wanted to ask you guys for help:

Am I right to assume that whatever happens, IBKR cannot liquidate a stock position paid to 100% by my own money at all? [Assuming, of course, I do not use margin in any other way.]

2. zdreg

zdreg

IBKR is not a broker for people who need elementary hand holding.
    The answer to your? you will not be liquidated.

jys78 likes this.
  3. rts232

rts232

Such was my initial understanding, but CS didn't make it sound like that and it didn't exactly help that he wasn't responding to further questions. Thanks for the reply, but, you know, everyone starts small and I'll rather ask to be sure, than run into things blindly.

Nobert likes this.
  4. zdreg

zdreg

At what time was your chat?
    How long was your chat?

5. luisHK

luisHK

Not sure why you think you might be liquidated, IB sends routinely increase margin advice. They didn t telk you u would be in margin deficit did they ?

6. rts232

rts232