Looking for something, help appreciated!

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by Newmoney24, May 11, 2012.

1. I'm a technical analysis trader and routinely draw trend lines, what I'm looking for is a software/program that can automatically go through the future indexes and automatically find trades that are ripe by drawing trendlines that are 10 hours+ long and have just bounced off it (thus giving a good entry point)
    -at this point I'd either like to be notified via text/email -- or even have it execute automatically

I know some software similar to this exists like "trendline trader" but I'm looking for something without a monthly service cost ideally and that people here have had good results with/heard good things about

Thanks in advance!

2. mike80439

mike80439

did you find a solution to the trend notification? can you say what price feed you'd like to use?

3. w/ trendlines it takes some (ok maybe a lot) of work to get what's in your head (e.g. i know a trendline when i see it) into writeable code. below are some hints which should work for any program:

you mentioned period of 10 hours - this is easy just use hourly charts and specify length as 10 bars

you mentioned touched trendline - say price equal trendline price (see below for this)

now here is obviously the hard part - how to define a trendline. for uptrends you could use a slope so you could look for all charts with an upward slope (least squares) of at least 0.30 for the past 3 months. i'm not really sure how you'd get a computer to recognize connecting the higher lows (i'll think about it and post later). you could say something like "the lowest low of the previous swing low is above the lowest low of the swing low preceding that".

i know this might sound disjointed - just throwing some thoughts out there.

4. so you want something with all the whistles and bells.

complete with turn down service and a chocolate on your pillow, all for free.

free schwag.

get a grip.

:D

5. 2rosy