Limit Orders Direct Market vs Retail Broker

Discussion in 'Order Execution' started by Rookie86, Feb 5, 2021.

Are the limit orders different between brokers?

1. Yes

62.5%
  2. No

37.5%
  1. Rookie86

Rookie86

Hello,
    I am new to trading, please answer this if you truly understand! Is there an impact placing a limit order with a retail broker like TD Ameritrade, Schwab, or ETrade vs a DMA broker?

I placed a sell limit order on SNDL today. After 30 minutes of selling on the offer, it still didn't take my order of 4,000 shares.. Even with 3 million shares traded. I placed the order in advance before the price was reached. I know limit orders are not guaranteed, but makes me wonder if my broker is front running it? Is this a thing? Same experience with a broker using direct access routing? Thanks!

Robert Morse likes this.
  2. Overnight

Overnight

Did you try selling half of your position on the bid? If that didn't take either, then you got 'em by the balls!

3. What is offer - Bid or Ask?

4. Rookie86

Rookie86

I wanted to get it on the offer, so put it there. Eventually the bids started to get picked off, so I dropped my limit on the bid and of course it took the order immediately.

5. Rookie86

Rookie86

I put it on the Ask. I sat and watched 3 million shares trade on between the bid and ask where my order was placed.

6. Overnight

Overnight

Well, now you know. If you want out on limits, hit the bid.

7. c3ipo

c3ipo