Legal Entity Indicators LEIs

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by garywernick, Jan 8, 2014.

1. Hi

I have just got a letter from my broker ADMISI asking me for my pre-LEI number.

I am just a small sole trader, operating on my own account through a UK limited company, trading oil futures on NYMEX.

ADMISI invited me to apply for a pre-LEI number on a number of websites. The only one which seemed to have a price was the London Stock Exchange which offered a number at a bargain £ 100 + VAT and only another £55 + VAT pa to maintain my number.

I tried a bit of Googling and it appears that anybody (person or company) who engages in any financial or commodity derivative trading incl on an exchange (I found somewhere which excluded spot FX deals for commercial reasons) - and this is obligatory in the EU under the EMIR regulations. Although I quickly got buried in goobedegook and I have a regulatory background (well I did 25 years ago)

Does anybody know anything about this??

Gary:confused:

2. Oh great, global bureaucratic numbering nonsense that we have to pay for.

If you read the LSE FAQs it states:

"1.3 What is a Legal Entity Identifier (LEI)?
    An official LEI is a unique identifier associated with a legal person or structure that is organised under the laws of any jurisdiction (excluding natural persons) and created in accordance with the international standard ISO 17442.

LEIs will enable consistent and unambiguous identification of parties to financial transactions."

Trading as a natural person does not require a pre-LEI number, but trading through a structure does.

That is all I am going to figure out.

3. It looks like anybody using a limited company to trade needs one of these. But why haven't I heard anything about this? There has to my knowledge been minimal mention on the Internet. Surely this is going to affect a very substantial proportion of traders!!!