ISO orders

Discussion in 'Order Execution' started by ProgrammerGuy, May 27, 2008.

1. I'm studying the series 55 and it talks about ISO (intermarket sweep orders)

This is what they say

Market Center A
    10.50 100
    10.51 100
    10.52 900

Market Center B
    10.50 200
    10.51 200
    10.52 900

if you send an ISO order to Market center A 1000 shares limit price 10.54 the book says that it will fill

100 shares from market center A @ .50
    200 shares from Market center B @ .50
    100 shares from market center A @ .51
    200 shares from Market center B @ .51
    400 sharse from Market center A @ 52.

I thought that the ISO order enables you to get inferior prices and sweep just the book of the center are you routing to, I thought you'd get
    100 shares from Market center A @ .51
    700 shares from market center A @ .52

2. IMHO, the answer in the book is wrong. It depends on how a particular market center executes ISO orders. For example, if you route your ISO order down to NYSE you'll get the following:

200 shares from Market center B @ .50
    100 shares from market center A @ .51
    600 sharse from Market center A @ 52

In order to comply with RegNMS, NYSE will take 200@.50 on B since it's NBBO protected, and then sweep the book for the rest size.

3. ty spec, you really know your rules on order execution let me tell ya

4. Doesn't Reg NMS require all market centers to execute ISO orders in the same fashion?

To clarify your response, I agree with the fills at the protected quote, but wouldn't the order of execution actually be:

A @ .50
    B @ .50
    A @ .51
    A @ .52

I wouldn't think you would have to fill at other protected quotes before your own since NYSE is protected market center.

I'm trying to get a better feel for how ISO's work...I think the book might actually be right (depends if during order routing 0.51 becomes a new protected quote...you might get filled like the book suggests, even though it is not very intuitive).