Is naked option writing really that bad?

Discussion in 'Options' started by Marco.911, Mar 27, 2018.

1. Marco.911

Marco.911

Hi guys.

Sorry if my first post seems a bit of a silly one but hear me out.

I’ve been trading naked options on indexes since pre-2008.

I typically trade really far out of the money and tend to write both calls and puts in the short term.

Some key points before I continue is I trade based on the IIROC margin rates (I’m not subject to house rates) and I am also not in a position where I am electronically forced out of positions if there is option expansion.

I often have 24/48 hours to settle up anything that is under water should that be the case.

(I have a sizeable account and manage two other accounts that are also on the larger end, at least by Canadian standards)

I have had a few issues over the years but I have never been in a position that I wasn’t able to repair. That said, most of the times I got burned was on the calls not the puts.

As more options became available, weekly, every other day etc, my stress level has been slightly reduced and returns are unaffected.

I’ve earned every year since 2004 with my worst year being 25% and the best was 270%. I have never had a losing year.

I learned this strategy from a very wealthy friend of mine that had worked as a trader way back in the 80s 90s.

I am aware of the obvious black swan events however in my years of doing this, I’ve found that there are times to trade and times to wait.

I also take advantage of weird events and deploy cash reserves in such cases. Take the recent vix spike earlier this year.

I was in a trade but it made sense to deploy a massive amount of capital to write options 3 months out at 800 points out of the money.

In less than a week it was a 40% bump. I do a few of these every year and it helps a lot.

Unfortunately it’s only scaleable to a point and that point was reached long ago.