Interactive brokers streaming Top level market data

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by developerpp, Oct 5, 2018.

1. Hi

I am new to trading. Currently i have small java code that is subscribing to different ticker symbols streaming top level 1 market data. I am having trouble understanding/interpreting the sequence of messages received. Any help on understanding the data and making sense out of it will be really helpful.

For example i subscribed to GOOG ticker on nasdaq and here is the stream of message i receive :

GOOG : tickString : ticktype LAST_TIMESTAMP value 1538668896
    GOOG : tickPrice : ticktype LAST price 1165.9 canautoexecute 0
    GOOG : tickSize : tickType LAST_SIZE size 1
    GOOG : tickSize : tickType VOLUME size 9154
    GOOG : tickPrice : ticktype HIGH price 1197.51 canautoexecute 0
    GOOG : tickPrice : ticktype LOW price 1165.55 canautoexecute 0
    GOOG : tickPrice : ticktype CLOSE price 1202.95 canautoexecute 0
    GOOG : tickPrice : ticktype OPEN price 1195.33 canautoexecute 0
    GOOG : marketDataType : marketDataType Realtime
    GOOG : tickPrice : ticktype BID price 1165.85 canautoexecute 1
    GOOG : tickSize : tickType BID_SIZE size 1
    GOOG : tickPrice : ticktype ASK price 1166.49 canautoexecute 1
    GOOG : tickSize : tickType ASK_SIZE size 2
    GOOG : tickSize : tickType BID_SIZE size 2
    GOOG : tickPrice : ticktype ASK price 1166.48 canautoexecute 1
    GOOG : tickSize : tickType BID_SIZE size 3
    GOOG : tickPrice : ticktype BID price 1165.89 canautoexecute 1

But i do not clearly understand how to log these events . Are there multiple messages being sent for the same event ? Does IB api send us a message for any update to the top level ? Do i need to maintain a state for the ticker and then keep updating the state as i get stream of message ?

for example : L3-4

Why do 2 consecutive message of this mean ? Are the messages usually streamed in or

Then i have this sequence of streaming message :