IB vs TD Ameritrade tick rate & API

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by kranebrain, Jan 21, 2017.

1. I'm new to stocks and trading but I've been in the computer world for a while. I've been using TD Ameritrade ToS, and while I like it I'd be much more comfortable controlling my trades in C++.

So I recently got my hands of TD Ameritrade developer API but one of my friends suggested IB. Does anyone readily have the tick rates of the two? If I intend to use C++ to trade am I better off going to IB?

2. tommcginnis

tommcginnis

"Tick rate"?? Que est?

As far as IB's TWS C++ API, I *seem* to recall that it was part of the overall API that had not seen updating in a while, and was not likely to see it, as there were/are issues with C++ that limit its abilities re trading. (This is a very weak recollection.) If you search on "TWS API C++" you'll likely gain a good bit. There is a Yahoo group that has recently moved to Groups.io{???} where a lot of wisdom hangs out. If you were flexible enough, it'd be a great time to lean into Java.

MotiveWave likes this.
  3. By tick rate I mean how fast you can pull quote data per second. Java is the devil's tongue so I'd prefer not to use it. But gotta do what you gotta do. Have you hear anything regarding TD Ameritrade's developer API?

4. IB datafeed is not every tick. It returns whatever changed since previous update, I think around 4 times a sec max (have not checked recently).

TDA datafeed by default is also aggregated. You can however request "TIME_SALES" which is a tick datafeed. You would then have to merge it with the regular quote datafeed in order to have a consolidated bid/ask/volume/last, etc.

In general IB API may be slightly faster. Particular issue I've found was with TDA Level II data. Compared to IQFeed and MB Trading API data for example, there is a noticeable difference.