IB is not for new future traders

Discussion in 'Interactive Brokers' started by hurricane_sh, Mar 31, 2020.

1. I made so many mistakes since I started trading futures 4 years ago, I wish I knew this earlier, so I want to tell new traders my lessons.

IB is a very good broker in many ways, but not suitable for new traders, here is why:

1. IB requires high margins, as a new future trader, you will very likely blow up a few accounts. The smaller accounts you open, the better. Trade small, trade tiny, one MES contract only before you can make money consistently.

2. TWS is not convenient to define different strategies, add stop losses, especially if you want to scalp. It's just not natural to do all those things.

3. You can't set a daily loss limit. This is extremely important for new traders.
    I lost over $100K, if I can setup a loss limit, even as big as $200, there is no way I can lose so much money.

All of these are not IB's fault, but you may be able to avoid these mistakes if you use a different broker.

Onra likes this.
  2. FrankInLa

FrankInLa

Competition speaking? Just curious how low the probability that minutes after another thread was opened by a beginner showing interest in IB your thread pops up.

1) disagree. Same contract, different brokers or account sizes, same absolute pnl. It's actually a good thing to enforce a higher account size and higher minimum margin for beginners to prevent them from overtrading. The pnl is identical regardless of account size or margin requirements.

2) I don't see what is inconvenient. I have used TWS and the gateway for over 10 years. You can set stops and target levels manually, or pre-configured and submit bracket orders. You can use a different frontend or your own api that interfaces with IB. You can configure key shortcuts.