I can't execute Stop Order on Schwab with certain stocks.

Discussion in 'Order Execution' started by JakeFaulker, Jul 19, 2020.

1. I tried to execute a Stop Order on Schwab with TPTW and this message came up:
    "This order cannot be accepted. Stop orders are not being accepted for this security. To enter, omit the "stop" designation. (DO200)"

I'm fairly new at trading and wondering if the problem is me with ordering or with the "security" (tptw), the SEC or is it just Schwab eliminating the transaction.

I'm a 9-5er so I like to set orders for the day where they can execute while I'm working.

Thanks, 1st time poster

Last edited: Jul 19, 2020
  2. vanzandt

vanzandt

($TPTW)
    It trades at $0.04 on the OTC. I don't think its an SEC thing, its probably just Schwab, but I'd bet its the same at any broker on penny-stocks like this. Maybe check the Robinhood Reddit forums.... from the looks of it this might be a popular stock over there lol. Just fyi though, if it triggers your stop, more than likely you'll get a price way below that (percentage-wise) on things like this. Its just the way it works. Schwab probably doesn't want to handle an influx of 1000's of calls from newbies (and I don't mean that in a bad way) tying up customer service wondering wtf happened.

3. Robinhood doesn't support this stock. I think it may be Schwab as well and not the order itself. It's such a simple order and I am not ready for options yet.

I was able to use stop order on HAL (Schwab) and worked pretty good. I am aware that I will not get a good price when the stock crashes but it's better than losing a lot more by the time I get to look at it at work.

If anyone has any suggestions on which type of trading platform will support similar penny stocks and be able to execute a stop order, please chime in...Thanks

4. drunnels

drunnels