I am suffering from information overload

Discussion in 'Educational Resources' started by skinny, Jul 14, 2022.

1. skinny

skinny

DISCLAIMERS: I am a newbie, and this will sound like a rant. Because it is.

I have done a lot of googling and read a few books on how to get into algo trading, and my experience has been frustrating. I am at the point where I am suffering from information overload and I feel the need to write down what I've accomplished so far (which isn't a lot).
    • There's a lot of products out there. Lately I have been looking for data sources and there are tons of companies offering data sets and feeds. Some of them are very expensive. A few of them are cheap or free. Choosing one is not easy. And there's a different product offered for every stage of the development process. Need something for backtesting? Google gives you a million different products. Charting? Ditto. Brokers? Same thing. Education? All in one solutions? You get the idea. There's too many products to choose from. What happened to an "industry standard"?
    • Errors! I'm a novice coder and most of the time the s**t just doesn't work! Sometimes this is my fault, yes. But there have been a few times where I wished that there was a way I could research the solution to the problem! Where is the good api documentation? Is the documentation updated and accurate? Where is the vibrant, active and helpful community?! I realize some products have great active communities, but which ones? And how do I find them?
    • Some of you guys who are selling stuff in this sector need to make nicer looking apps because half of this stuff looks like it was made in 1995.
    • I want to make stuff in python, please. what's with all the c# apis?
    That's all I can think of for now. Please school me and tell me I don't know what I'm talking about.

d08 likes this.
  2. maxinger

maxinger

Trading is not just about simply pressing the BUY or SELL button.