I am a new trader with under $25,000 looking to day trade, what should I do to start?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Peter S, Nov 26, 2018.

1. Peter S

Peter S

I have been preparing to go live for a while now, but the PDT rule has made it a lot more complicated. I am sure most of you did not start with a balance of $25,000, so I would like to ask how you all got started with a limit of 3 day trades a week on a margin account. I understand that a cash account is an option, but I am not ready to opt for that. If that is what you all used to get started I will probably follow in your footsteps. I am just looking for some guidance by some succesfull traders. So to sum up my question, what should I do to get started with an account balance of a few thousand dollars. As with the PDT rule I can only complete 3 day trades a week. Thank you for your guidance.

2. Is it possible to trade something that doesn't fall under PDT rules?

3. It sounds like you need capital and experience. At this point, your time seems best served by building up capital and trading knowledge by reading this site, books, and by using (Or continue using) a trading simulator in your spare time.

Please don’t feel you might be missing out on the potential of making a fortune. Even reaching the extremely exceptional hyper-performance level of a 100% annual return on your starting capital of a few thousand dollars will not change your lifestyle. It could actually make your lifestyle worse as you may not be taking the time to maximize your job skills or whatever your current source of income is.

Yes, this sounds like a downer, but this is practical advice that I hope you heed sooner rather than later. Invest in your life skills first, obtain a higher level of success there before attempting to compete against the very smart, educated in finance, and well capitalized traders and firms that lurk in intraday trading.

th0masq, trickshot, fan27 and 2 others like this.
  4. SteveM

SteveM