How much did it take to become more or less consistent for you?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by prj, Nov 27, 2019.

1. prj

prj

I study charts in my spare time for about 2 years, I feel like I've developed a system, but before I started to trade full-time obviously I can't be sure and rely on it fully. Also some people say it tooks up to 10 years to become consistent. So I'd like to ask you, how long it was in your case (did you do it full-time or part-time), do you have some tricks that helped you to accelerate that process? Thanks

murray t turtle likes this.
  2. Be a machine. Don't think you can force the market to do what you want.

ElectricSavant and drcruz like this.
  3. in my case, before I started trading in the end of 2006, I had studied market for 3 years. in 2004, I bought 20 dell precision desktops, and used machine learning to identify profitable patterns. the calculation was so cpu intensive, at one point, it caused outrage in my apartment. the software dug out hundreds of patterns with statistical meaning, most of which were due to over fitting. after careful research, I located one pattern that has true edge, which i have used since then for the last 12 years. the trading system has less 2% dd over the last decade, sharpe ratio on average above 7. I made 230% in 2007, 250% in 2008, since 2007 was bull and 2008 was bear year, I figured my system had survived both bull and bear cycle, and thus I had confidence that I could quit the tenured government position.

Last edited: Nov 27, 2019
  4. Zodiac4u

Zodiac4u

I had a Bond trader buddy at the board of trade tell me a story about his friend who was also a Bond trader. So my friends trader buddy would take his commodity perspective charts to his nieces house and pay her a visit. He would than place her on his knee and open up his charts and ask her what direct she thought it was going go.