Help with multi monitor setup

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Bryantrades, Aug 24, 2016.

1. Hi I'm a fairly new day trader. For the past few months I have been trading off just my laptop with no additional monitors. But on the weekend I decided to buy two 24 inch monitors for charting. I'm
    Not very tech savvy. But I noticed my Laptop has only one HDMI input. Is there any way I can connect both of these monitors to my laptop with HDMI? By the way I have a 17.3 inch Acer Aspire e5-772g-76ed laptop. Any help is much appreciated. Thanks

2. just21

just21

3. J_Smith

J_Smith

My advice is forget it, if you are serious about daytrading. Laptops are not designed for lots of graphics, and you will have big problems with overheating, which will shorten the lifespan of your laptop dramatically.

You can put together a nice small mini atx full PC for very small money - get an eyefinity capable motherboard - I have 4 monitors running with just one dual output graphics card and can add another 2 if I like.

240GB SSD running Windows 10 64 bit with 8 GB ram is the basic requirements - 16GB would be better, but not required.

Win 10 can be setup for free.

Off top of my head, full setup should cost roughly $350 - $400 - half that if you buy seconhand.

Make sure you get the right motherboard, as it is the most important when it comes to multi monitor - let me know if you want some make / model no's and I can get same for you to build your system for peanuts compared to what you will pay in shops.

J_S

Last edited: Aug 25, 2016
  4. NoBias

NoBias

How exactly can he get a free operating system (Win10) ?

5. J_Smith

J_Smith

Install win7 with crack first..then upgrade to win 10 for free. Hell I even got a crack for office 16 which worked - says it does win10 as well, but I didn't try that yet.

Better off do a clean install of win7 first, so save whatever you need first.

J_S

6. lovethetrade

lovethetrade Guest

He needs 240GB SSD?...Less won't do?