Help me out!

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by jak5080, Jan 1, 2008.

1. jak5080

My name is Justin Katz and I am an undergraduate sophomore at Penn State University studying finance. I currently have 3.9 GPA and am now starting to look into internships for the future. I’ve always had a very strong interest in trading equity and am now leaning toward a career in some combination of either swing or day trading. Are there any successful full time traders that live around the Philadelphia area that are willing to let me come to their home/office and let me “view” what a “typical day” is like. If someone is willing to help me out that would be wonderful. I am home from school until January 12th, so any day during the week would be great. I live in Bucks County, PA (20 miles north of Philadelphia), but I am willing to drive relatively far.

I pretty much just want to get a feel for what a typical day trader does.

I’m sure most of you were in my shoes at one point in their life so please help me out!

Thank you,

2. Good luck to you Justin. Don't get your hopes up that anyone will allow you to watch them trade. Who knows, though, you may get very lucky.

Make sure to say no to any snake-oil salesmen that contact you and tell you that they have a system which will allow you to start trading right away, or that they have a chat room where you can pay and join and there are veteran traders showing people where they make their trades. Do not give any of them one cent.

It's likely that you'll have to do what everyone else has done and learn it yourself. You may get some information here re: a career in the financial services industry that will prepare you for trading.

Most of the traders here just learned it themselves and the cost of tuition is high for the majority.

Most people who come here and post like you did want the results but either have no idea how much work is necessary or aren't interested in doing it.