Home > Tools of the Trade > Backup and Security > Hello New to the Board, Router question?

Hello New to the Board, Router question?

1. Hello,
    I am new to the board, first post and have a question about whether this Router will be sufficient to insure wireless security. I started trading in the early 80's with the first home PC (IBM JR) and a 300 baud modem through Dial Data, prior to an Internet, Aol, Compuserve, Prodigy days. I have taken the last few years off from trading but I am starting back up. I have fallen behind with the current available technology but want excellent security. I have a new Dell laptop coming soon which I will use as a dedicated trading computer(No Internet) I have an old desk top with Windows 98 for the internet.

Will this ROUTER be sufficient for wireless security, does it have all the security features you need these days?

I just need the laptop to be wireless not the desktop. Will this work with an old pc and windows 98 and a new laptop? Linksys tells me it will work with the old pc and windows 98(which is what I was concerned about because some routers require 2000 or XP.
    I imagine my SBC DSL modem and the router will connect to the old windows 98 PC with an ethernet cable?and that will work to make the laptop wireless.

I am technologically unsaavy(trying to learn though).
    THANKS for any help

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage...CategoryId=pcmcat25300050001&id=1166234894847
    http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Sate...nksys/Common/VisitorWrapper&lid=8437836001B01

2. This Linksys router will meet your needs for wireless security. However it is important that you enable WPA or WEP encryption on both the router and laptop with the largest possible key possible. You also want to disable SSID broadcasts on the router and enable MAC address screening so only your laptop's MAC address can connect to the router wirelessly.