Has anyone tried to borrow from a box spread with Schwab?

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by tonyf, Jun 2, 2021.

1. tonyf

tonyf

This is looking very interesting:

IBKR is a no go for this - but I wonder if anyone has first hand experience doing something like that at Schwab?

2. I have no experience borrow from Schwab but interested to have more details like what will be interest rate and how much money we can borrow?

3. Fxmove88

Fxmove88

Box Spreads work well in IBKR. Robinhood banned it. Selling Box Spreads on Eurostoxx50 even pays you to borrow Euro.

4. tonyf

tonyf

can you walk me through the mechanics of doing that with IB?

5. Fxmove88

Fxmove88

First, you need to convert your IBKR account to Portfolio Margin. You need to put much more than the minimum $100K equity requirement.

On IBKR mobile app's watchlist look for SPX. Click Options. Scroll to desired date you wish for the tenor of the loan (the longest for now being Dec 14, 2023). Turn on the Strategy Builder at the bottom so you can see what you choose. Scroll on the option strike price to determine the desired width of the box (amount of the loan) e.g. 4000 - 5000 (1000 distance x 100 = $100,000.- loan to be paid back at the expiration date)

On 4000 strike price
    1. Click Ask on the left side : Buy 1 4000 Call
    2. Click Bid on the right side : Sell 1 4000 Put

On 5000 strike price
    3. Click Ask on the right side : Buy 1 5000 Put
    4. Click Bid on the left side : Sell 1 5000 Call