Forex Account vs Futures Account

Discussion in 'Forex' started by bettles, Mar 8, 2008.

1. bettles

bettles

I have been trading Forex on and off for about 4 years now. When I've mentioned this to some people who actively trade in markets other than stocks, several times I've gotten the reaction "Why would you want to trade Forex?". When I say to speculate on currency trends, they say "You could do that a lot better in the futures market".

Why would the futures market be considered better? I trade with Oanda, which allows me to pick any size trade - even as small as a single Euro for example. In the futures markets, there is one contract size, so a small trader such as myself cannot scale trades well. I was thinking maybe the transaction costs are higher, but I don't really see this. The spread I pay, at least for the Euro, is a pip or less. So assuming a trade the same size as a futures contract, I am only going to be paying around $10 round trip. I don't think most futures brokers are going to be less than that. Perhaps the transaction costs for Forex only become significant for larger trades? Or am I missing some other disadvantage to trading with a Forex account vs. a futures account?

2. You're opening up a can of worms asking that question!

I'm a die hard cash forex trader who trades a derivative through a dealing desk broker with fixed spreads and have done for years without any problems (once I'd found the right broker that is!), and there are plenty of people here who would call me crazy and this is why.....

http://www.cme.com/edu/events/od/Trading_CME_FX_Futures/CME_FX.swf

http://www.fxfutures.com/content/spot/index.php?show=1

According to the gurus I'm doing everything wrong, I should be bankrupt long ago, but all I can say is it works for me so my view is why would I want to fix what ain't broke :)

3. bettles

bettles

Thanks for the links, Cabletrader. The 2nd one especially is helpful.