Do any prop shops/firms have an edge?

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by trader3030, Jun 22, 2021.

1. I started trading 4 years ago, out of college and have consistently been profitable with 100% of my trades being short positions in a market that “only goes up”. I’ve found a very niche strategy that works for me but feel that I am limited, shorting in a market that it is designed to go up. I am confident that I can be more successful If I could learn to trade from the buy side.

Are there any prop shops/firms that do more than just provide capital?

2. traider

traider

Yes colocation and ability to trade before most people do

3. kmiklas

kmiklas

Well, if you expect a firm to give you profitable buy-side strategies, consult a psychologist. That's like giving away a good fishing hole, gold pocket, or hunting spot. Unless Daddy runs the firm, it just does not happen. Those strats are the crown jewels, top-secret, and often only the fund owner has full knowledge of them.

My best advice would be to read read read... read books. That is where the answer lies, but it will take time, dedication, and hard work. You will find nuggets of truth in all trading books. I would point you to these two for starters:

1. Reminisces of a Stock Operator (Edwin Lefevre)
    2. Pit Bull: Lessons from Wall Street's Champion Day Trader (Martin "Buzzy" Schwartz)

This, of course, in addition to voraciously reading the news: BB, WSJ, FT, and (imnsho) The Economist.

Once you've developed your style and demonstrated profitability, they might give you a 100k try with lots of fine print. They'll probably hire you just to learn your strats.

Last edited: Jun 22, 2021
  4. Dustin

Dustin

Look up Scott Redler at T3. He successfully trades/teaches a mostly long portfolio approach.

777 likes this.
  5. Tradex

Tradex

This guy is a real bore, and always "going for the gold" each time the market drops by 10%.
    I did not learn much from his book quite frankly.

zdreg likes this.