Discretionary vs fully Systematic

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by alphadillo, May 26, 2023.

Are you discretionary or fully systematic?

1. Discretionary only

6 vote(s)
    24.0%
  2. Systematic only

8 vote(s)
    32.0%
  3. Mix of both

11 vote(s)
    44.0%
  1. Hi!

I'm new to ET and this is my first thread. I have no financial background, started trading part time in 2020 and haven't reached consistency yet. I was wondering how you guys decided what kind of trader you want to be?

I started with a buy & hold mindset and realized after a short amount of time that I want to be a more active trader. I currently trade a trend following long intraday/swing strategy with a focus on US growth stocks. My strategy has systematic and discretionary aspects. After marking up charts and manually collecting Data, I'm now taking deep look into backtesting. The goal is to back up my discretionary trading with statistical data over time, so that I can have more conviction in my A+ setups.

I'm kind of blown away with the newly discovered backtesting possibilties and systematic aspects of fully statistically backed edges. I found out that there are traders out there that fully act on a system that practically eliminates all discretionary actions. Some days I find myself fighting at the "borders" of my system and I act more discretionary, sometimes with success, sometimes not. Now I'm a bit torn apart and ask myself if I might be more successful on the systematic side of trading. Did some of you guys undergo a similar process? Did these changes lead to a different mindset in regard to trading? Were you able to fully embrace the systematic approach from the start on? Was it easier to abide your rules, did you discipline improve?

I guess the most logical way to find out would be to trade a fully systematic strategy on a paper account for a few weeks and see how I do & feel. Any other suggestions?