Deep in the money puts on SPY

Discussion in 'Options' started by DChan, Nov 29, 2016.

1. DChan

DChan

Hi All,

I am a noob in option trading, hoping someone can give me some insights into the risk of this trade.

I sell SPY161216P00315000 for 107.33 and buy SPY161216P00310000 at 91?
    It is highly unlikely that the price of SPY will be above 310 by Dec 16th.

SPY Last Price = 220.91

Strike Last Chg Bid Ask Vol OI
    SPY161216P00310000 310.0 90.95 0.0000000 88.14 91.00 75 1116
    SPY161216P00315000 315.0 107.36 0.0000000 107.33 107.72 5 11584

2. JackRab

JackRab

Those prices are not up to date... where did you get your data?

There's only intrinsic value left so the value for the 310 put would be 89.09 and for the 315 put 94.09. That spread is worth $5 and will never have been more than that... not yesterday, not now and not tomorrow... because no-one in their right mind would bid >5 for a $5 put spread.

So, basically if you could do this trade, sell the 310-315 put spread for $16.33 there would be no risk just $11.33 rewards... but that's not going to happen unfortunately...

EDIT... Right, Yahoo... fuck man, why do people bother looking at Yahoo prices? It's like looking at a Ferrari brochure from with prices from 1979 at the local shoe shop...

Last edited: Nov 29, 2016
    ironchef and CBC like this.
  3. Stymie

Stymie

When you start looking at deep ITM options, the liquidity dries up and the market makers will take you to the cleaners. The best way to assess their value is to look at the corresponding OTM option which has more volume and tighter spreads and that should give you the extrinsic where they can trade. I say can but the market makers wont let you get a good deal and they will front run you as the rules allow. The computer algos also monitor the market and will spread trade you if you put in the wrong price in addition to locking in any risk free trade that is offered outside intrinsic so above comments are correct as well.