Current Market Conditions

Discussion in 'Economics' started by Trade Theory, Feb 26, 2020.

1. Currently we've seen a 9.5% selloff from its peak, with the Coronavirus being an ongoing source of news to fuel the fire. The aggressiveness of this downmove is very similar to Feb 2018 and Jan 2016. The SPX has already had a 4 standard deviation move for this week and the week only half over.

We will likely have high volatility for much of 2020, both to the upside and down. The election is coming up to add some excitement to the latter half of 2020. Bond prices have been skyrocketing. Fund managers across the world have been buying Treasury bonds as a safehaven because there's no other safe asset out there that produces a yield. Because of this the yield curve is completely inverted. Vol futures are in backwardation. The VIX sitting at 30 and the VVIX at peaking at 120; volatility is not backing off. A lot of the world is in duck and cover panic mode right now, at least in the short term. Scary conditions for the average investor. Exciting if you're a trader.

Where we're going from here: my guess is SPX will sell off to around 3000 then bounce up 200 points or so before either channeling or selling off further. The fed will likely step in and cut rates which will bring a bid back to the market. If cities start being quarantined in the US and businesses start shutting down, this could develop into a real selloff. Keep on your game people, keep your risk defined.

Last edited: Feb 26, 2020
  2. notagain

notagain

/ES almost at the 200sma, trouble if the bulls play dead.

3. gaussian

gaussian