Crude Newbie

Discussion in 'Commodity Futures' started by SteveA, Jul 26, 2017.

1. SteveA

SteveA

I am an experienced Emini trader of the ES and NQ. I am looking at the CL as a possibility for me.

Can you guys who trade the Equity Index Futures and the CL give me an idea what it is like. I am starting to believe much of what I hear and read... that the ES and NQ are now dominated by the Algo's and it is just damm frustrating.

I appreciate the input

2. Robert Morse

Robert Morse Sponsor

What is your basic strategy for ES/NQ.

3. algofy

algofy

It all damn frustrating in their own ways!

4. Overnight

Overnight

CL has kind of died for daily movement fun. You're 6 months too late out of the gate. Anticipate more volatility 9 months from now.

The RB/HO bits? Fascinating price action. Eye them, watch them. More bang for buck on those than CL, IMHO.

And as far as EQ/ES being dominated by algos? Dude, what...You think CL is not immune to it? *chuckle*. Everyone is infected by algo/HFT, man.

Do not let any of that dissuade you or your entry/exits. It is all fluffer-nutter-butter or whatever. Just do what you do, and you will be fine. No worries.

Last edited: Jul 26, 2017
    murray t turtle likes this.
  5. Gotcha

Gotcha

Troll alert!

There is no way that an experienced ES and NQ trader would have these stupid questions. If you're experienced, you've been trading for years, which means you already know all about the algos.

And if you're experienced, you have surely already looked at CL. It would take an experienced trader no time at all to look at a chart and see what he needs to see for himself in order to gauge how it moves.

And most importantly, if you're an experienced trader, you would never need to come to ET and ask other strangers what trading the CL is like.

Seriously, who is creating all these dumb aliases and wasting everyone's time???

6. MACD

MACD