Confidence Shattered in NT 8

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by Warren, Aug 2, 2019.

1. Warren

Warren

Hi Guys,

I know there are real guru traders here. And I think I can take advantage of your wisdom and experience by listening to your advice here.

The issue I encountered here is that, I spent almost a year to familiarize myself with the NinjaTrader 8 platform. Writing indicators, strategies, optimization fitness, and in the last even a genetic optimizer. During this process, I find several bugs of their program, but I am not a professional programmer. Sometime I have to spend like half a month to explain to them where is going wrong. And some bugs, they have not yet correct it until now. Suspicion is growing, certainly.

Until yesterday, I did a test informed by another elite trader here: install NT8 on two computers, use the same strategy, same data, same parameter, same time interval, in a word, set everything the same except that it is running on two different computers. And guest what? The results are totally different !

My confidence of the reliability of the platform is shattered!

And my fellow elite trader, do me a favor, install NT 8 on two computers and run a test with every thing set up the same, will you get the same results?

Kind of low these days, I think I will convert to Python. Any suggestions ?

2. d08

d08

Always best to have your own platform but expect a colossal amount of work. Result is that you can have anything and everything you want in it.

3. Robert Morse

Robert Morse Sponsor

What was different? Was the difference in real trading or sim?

4. Totally different how? Care to elaborate?

I was very happy with NT7, but migrating to NT8 which was supposed to be a far superior platform have been a disappointment. I don't run any automated strategies except for order placement, but have coded quite a lot of indicators/tools which I use.