Collar Strategy with US indices S&P500 (E-mini future/CFD with weekly options)

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by Millionaire_Raj, Jul 28, 2021.

1. Basically i want to do collar positions on US indices E-mini S&P500 futures/cfd with weekly options and i want to know margin requirements for the day trading and overnight positions.
    looking for lowest margin brokers? im a non-US resident

2. destriero

destriero

Collaring the index positions, if legs are 1:1, is simply a synthetic bull vertical (short collar; long ES). It doesn't make sense as an overlay, but can be used to lock in some delta.

3. adjustments will be done in collar when required and can close the position earlier which is not possible in bull verticals

4. Girija

Girija

Do you ask this question every 3 months ? Looks like you need to search your own archives.

5. destriero

destriero

Thanks dude, and that's what I stated. The combined position is a synthetic vertical if the legs are equal in size. The combined position (futures + bear reversal) results in a requirement </= the req on the equivalent bull vertical under SPAN.

Long futures + bear reversal = bull vertical payoff and req.

Last edited: Jul 28, 2021
    cesfx likes this.
  6. neogene

neogene

No one has given a clear solution for you but I went through this shit inside out so I'll save some hassle for you with bittersweet news.