Broker's wash sales not calculated correctly

Discussion in 'Taxes and Accounting' started by curiousGeorge8, Sep 7, 2016.

1. I am an active trader and recently received the form 8949 from my brokerage account, but upon close look the wash sales do not seem correct. Hopefully someone will help me to understand better or confirm that indeed the brokerage made mistakes.

The attached is a series of trades of qqq in the beginning of last year (sorry I could not copy and paste the information to this thread directly). The first trade ending on 01/08/2015 is a losing trade. Since the second trade has entry date of 01/09/2015, so the first trade should be a wash sale?

Since the third trade (ending on 1/20/2105) is a gain, why it is considered to be a wash sale? Similarly the fifth trade (ending on 02/09/2015) is also a gain but it is labeled by my broker as a wash sale.

I suspect that the brokerage made mistakes, but please confirm this is indeed the case.

Many thanks.

2. rmorse

rmorse Sponsor

curiousGeorge8 and dealmaker like this.
  3. SteveH

SteveH

George,

Why are you even concerned about wash sales until the end of the year? If you have no "trading vehicle" in which to carry the loss over into the next year then ALL of those interim wash sales during the year you're trying to figure out ARE MEANINGLESS.

It's simple: if you have a loss on any stock you trade in December, STOP TRADING IT, wait 31 days from that point forward before trading it again and there will be no "vehicle" from which to carry the loss forward into the new year. If you want to push trading your favorite instrument to the limit then any loss you have in a stock as of Dec 31st, DON'T trade that instrument for all of Jan...presto, no vehicle, no new trade in the new year to receive the final wash.