Beware CyberTrader PDT jail! I'm in it...

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by JimBecker17, Jul 3, 2006.

1. ....and must be a criminal! At least I feel like one..

Two months ago I accidently triggered the PDT rules closing out some trades shortly after opening them.

This triggered an email saying I had to change my target from Growth to Speculation, which I did - figured no big deal.

However they locked out my account, which I found out only five weeks later - when next tried to trade.

This resulted in multiple instances of having to "resubmit my financials" and being denied for not having "minimum account requirements".. I've also told them am not intending to be a Day Trader.

Of course they will not tell me, or Schwab representatives, why "the man behind the curtain" denies me access. They will not inform either of us what the problem is. I am a full time trader with my own company and funds.

So now have removed Margin and now PDT status from my account, and perhaps will be able to use it...

My account balance is a significant multiple of $25K, my only use of margin has been a few short positions, and of course have had money with Schwab for twenty or so years....

They will not tell me _why_ I am denied, and keep telling me to resubmit financials. The definition of insanity is expecting a different result from the same input, thank you...

Their assumption is the customer will "game" their financials if they knew the rules used to obtain approval. Yes, we are all liars.

SO WHATEVER THEIR RULES ARE, ASSUME YOU ARE NOT AWARE OF THEM IF YOU FALL UNDER PDT STATUS AND MIGHT LAND IN JAIL AS WELL.... Hopefully your experience will vary.

As a compliment the Customer Service people have been professional and friendly, but Mr. Wizard in the back room seems to not like me and will not talk to me... :)

2. nlslax

nlslax

I dont get it. If you have multiples of $25k in your account, why do they care if you are PDT as long as you meet the $25k minimum?