Backtesting software recommendations

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by DB3, May 15, 2012.

1. DB3

DB3

Does anyone have any recommendations for software that can run some pretty basic back testing? I say basic, because I'm not a programmer. Just a trader that would like to put some of my observations and trading set ups to the test to see their probabilities of success over time. Currently I'm running my trading through Interactive Brokers and trade mostly futures with some equities mix in from time to time.

Thanks for your help!

2. > pretty basic back testing? I say basic, because I'm not a
    > programmer.

Learn programming. Seriously. The problem with "Basic" is that (a) proper trading is not (it is not some simple conditions - some of the TRADE logic that we work on here goes over pages - that is the logic to execute trades, go in and out of positions etc., not the simple signal code, plus avoiding market open and cloe times, news times, times the order book looks crappy etc.) and (b) you will have to validate all edge cases which you would obviously NOT trade but which will be traded in backtest otherwise.

The trivial stuff is like "Is there a simple car because I want to check some ideas for driving races" - not the same.

3. DB3

DB3

Learn programming. Seriously. The problem with "Basic" is that (a) proper trading is not (it is not some simple conditions - some of the TRADE logic that we work on here goes over pages - that is the logic to execute trades, go in and out of positions etc., not the simple signal code, plus avoiding market open and cloe times, news times, times the order book looks crappy etc.) and (b) you will have to validate all edge cases which you would obviously NOT trade but which will be traded in backtest otherwise.

The trivial stuff is like "Is there a simple car because I want to check some ideas for driving races" - not the same.